What are ROI, ROMI and ROAS?
- March 20, 2018
- by Uliana_Moreva
- Reviews: 0
In the most affiliate campaigns you can find such KPI as ROI , the success of the campaign depends on that metric. But that is not the only option that used by an advertiser to check the real effect of the campaign, there are such metrics as ROMI and ROAS.
In this article we will discuss all mentioned metrics and the difference between them.
Such information will be useful not only for affiliates, but for the advertisers as well, cause all this KPIs used in the both sides: advertiser understand the effectiveness of the affiliate program and publisher, considering ROI KPIs, knows what source is better to use for campaign promotion to reach the target.
All KPIs are counted in percentage.
ROI (Return On Investments) – measures the gain or loss generated on an investment relative to the amount of money invested.
The formula of ROI = (Net Profit \Total Costs) *100
ROI takes into account the amount earned once expenses have been subtracted. Indeed, the ROI target is to answer the question is the returns justify the investments. It shows general results not specified on the certain costs, unlike the ROMI.
ROMI (Return On Marketing Investments) – the metric used to measure overall effectiveness of the marketingactivities and choose the better sources for the future investments.
The formula of ROMI = (Net Profit\Marketing Costs) *100
ROMI shows you the real productivity of your marketing strategy:
You spent the 2500$ on the product and 1500 is on promotion. The Net Profit for the first month is 700$, and the Net profit from promotion is 300$ let’s check what ROI and ROMI will be:
ROI = (700\2500)*100 = 28%
ROMI = (300\1500)*100 = 20%
Based on the results, we can make a conclusion that ROI gives you a general understanding of the financial situation with your product, while the ROMI is only about marketing. In the ROIs formula we took overall costs (marketing, company costs..)and overall profit, in ROMIs formula we used only Marketing costs (pr, analytics, development)and Marketing Profit.
Lets move to the last, but not less important metric – ROAS.
ROAS (Return On Advertising Spends) - a narrower KPI that shows the return on the advertising investments.
ROAS = (Net Advertising Profit \ Advert Costs) * 100
You can calculate ROAS if know the cost and profit per conversion.
For example, you have site created to connect freelancers with a customer and you decided to make a banner advertisement on a famous blog. After a week of test, you want to know the ROAS.
During the past week 140 people came to your site and created the account, but only 70ty made orders. Your profit is 10$ per each order, that means your profit are 700$, but you spent 500$ on the advertising. To calculate Net Profit, you need to deduct the costs from the revenue:
Net Profit = 700 – 500=200$
To calculate the ROAS:
ROAS = (200 \ 500) * 100 = 40%
So, the good news – the advertising in the blog is offset the expenses, but the real productivity is only 40%.
May 25, 2023
Niche overview: Health of the cardiovascular system
Everad is launching a new series of articles – “Excellent Nutra niche to start”! They devoted the fi...Read more
May 19, 2023
How to create mobile proxy using Android and use UDP
Anyone who works with online advertising, for example, social media, SEO, parcers, bots, affiliate m...Read more
May 15, 2023
Affbank Awards 2023 is coming!
The fifth annual Affbank Awards 2023 is coming! All companies that work in the affiliate marketing f...Read more
Hey, my name is Uliana, I am here to provide you with the top affiliate content, starting from Facebook arbitrage to Push traffic. Ask me anything: [email protected]